Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted by on May 31, 2013 in Science |

An asteroid will pass very close to Earth on Friday

An asteroid will pass very close to Earth on Friday

(C) NASA

The 1998 QE2 will pass about 5.8 million kilometers from Earth this May 31, a fairly close but not dangerous (to imagine, is about 15 times the distance between Earth and the Moon). For stargazers, however, is an excellent time to investigate this subject.

Astronomers hope to capture images of the asteroid in hopes of capturing some of the features of its surface. “When an asteroid passes so close, gives us a major scientific opportunity to study in detail to understand its size, shape, rotation, surface features, and what we can expect of their origin. We will also use new radar measurements of the distance and speed of the asteroid to improve our calculations of its orbit and compute its movement in time of what we could do otherwise, “said Lance Benner, Goldstone radar researcher at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory NASA.

The asteroid will be at the shortest distance from Earth to 20.59 UTC (17:59 Argentina / Chile 16:59 / 15:59 Mexico, Colombia, Peru / 22:59 Spain). The 1998 QE2 will not happen again at this distance of at least 200 years. It is believed that the asteroid is about 2.7 miles long, is, as some nine cruise liners.

Link: NASA Hosts News and Social Media Events this Week’s Around Asteroid Pass

Tags: , , , , , ,