ACTIVATE / DEACTIVATE Geolocation Android / iPhone  ▷ 2020

One of the most relevant features that emerged with the birth of smartphones was GPS location. This allows Google and other applications know your geographical position to provide you with a much more precise service that adjusts to your needs according to the area in which you are. Tools such as Maps use it and offer you alerts of events in your area, so you can better plan your day.

Although this feature is extremely useful, many people do not like the idea of ​​having it active all the time as this means that the mobile will be constantly connected to the internet, or what is the same, consuming (wasting) your data plan like you were a millionaire. That is why many choose to deactivate it and not use it unless it is completely necessary (that your partner asks you for the location on WhatsApp).

In this article we are going to teach you how to activate and deactivate the GPS location of your Android or iOS mobile and erase the location history. In addition, you will learn more characteristics of this function and what happens when it is working and what stops happening when you turn it off, so that you can evaluate on your own how necessary it is for you.

Steps to activate and deactivate the GPS location of your Android phone and prevent Google from storing our location

Activating GPS location is quite simple. On Android it is an especially easy process to carry out that will not take more than a couple of touches. In fact, you have two ways to accomplish this task.

Below we show you each of the steps you must take to do this.

Disable by quick settings

The first option you have is to use the “Quick settings” of the mobile. To access them you simply must touch the status bar at the top of the screen of your smartphone and slide your finger down, which will unfold a small curtain. In this, you will see a series of functions that you can easily activate or deactivate.

To turn location on or off You simply have to touch the corresponding icon, which is identified by an inverted drop as you can see in the image.

Enable or disable location on Android

From the mobile location settings

The second way you have to activate or deactivate this option on your mobile is by browsing the “Settings” from your mobile. What you have to do is enter this phone application and touch “Location settings” found in the section of “Permissions”. Once there you will see a switch in the option “Access to my location”, which you must turn on or off depending on whether you want to activate or deactivate your location.

Enable Android Phone Location Settings

Manage location history

Among the many services offered by Google on Android, the location history is one of the main ones, although for many users it is completely unnecessary. This is housed in your google account linked to your device and allows you to carry a continuous record of where you are to offer you special features based on your geographic locationsuch as custom maps in Maps, real-time traffic notifications and more.

The problem with it is that it also constantly consumes data, so you probably want Google to stop doing it for good.

To manage this Android feature you must do the following:

  • Enter the mobile settings and follow the route “Google”> “Google account” which will open your account settings interface.
  • Once there follow the route “Data and personalization”> “Controls of your account activity”> “Location history”, which will show you the option to enable or disable this feature for everyone or for a specific device.

After this, your Android will no longer keep storing your location history and will stop consuming that data that bothers you so much. When this feature is active, Google uses the information to customize many of its reports, such as notifications for weather, traffic, and more.

This also It is a protection measure since if your mobile is stolen, you can track it from the web version, turn it off and even delete the information inside it to prevent it from falling into the wrong hands. When this tool is disabled, you will not be able to continue receiving personalized notifications and basically you lose all the benefits that Google has for you for that extra data consumption.

Delete location history

Another thing you can do is delete location history that Google It stores in the cloud to offer you all those extra features that we already mentioned.

To do this, you simply have to do the following:

  • Enter the “Settings” from your mobile and follow the route “Accounts”> “Google account”> “Data and personalization”.
  • Once here you must touch “Controls your account activity”> “Location history”> “Manage Chronology”. This will open the Google Maps application.
  • When in Maps, tap on “Settings” and then touch the option “Delete all location history” or if you want to delete only part of it, touch “Remove a period from location history” and determine the dates from which you want to clean.

After this, the location history will be completely deleted and when you activate the function it will start to be done from scratch, as if you were just using the mobile.

How to enable or disable the geolocation of your iPhone or iPad device and delete the browsing history?

Despite being direct competitions, Android and iOS are more alike than you thinkFor this reason, on Apple devices, activating or deactivating the location is as simple as doing it on a smartphone powered by Google. This time you also have two ways of doing the task.

Here we show you how to do it both ways:

For quick settings

The first way you have to activate or deactivate the location of your Apple device is with the quick settings menu. For that you have to do touch at the bottom of the screen and drag it up, and touch the icon corresponding to the location to turn it on or off.

By advanced settings

To do this same task through the normal mobile settings you simply have to do the following:

  • You just have to follow the route “Settings”> “Privacy”> “Location”.

Disable location on iPhone

  • Once there you will see a switch to turn the location on or off, just touch on it to move it at will.

Delete iOS location history

iOS also has a tool for meticulously keeping track of all the locations you’ve been to in the past. If you want to eliminate it completely, you simply have to follow the steps that we explain below:

  • Go into “Settings”> “Privacy”> “Location”.
  • Once there, go down until you find the option “System services”, and inside it make touch in “Recent locations”.
  • This will show you all the locations you’ve been to since you got your iOS. To remove them simply touch “Delete history” and confirm the decision in the dialog box that will appear.

Delete iOS location history

If you don’t want Apple to keep registering the locations you visit, you just have to turn off the option switch “Recent locations” so you no longer have permission to do so.

disable iOS recent locations

What happens when my mobile location is active or deactivated?

Every action brings with it a reaction, and this is something that is seen in all things in life and also in the tools that we turn off or on on our mobile. Location is a tool that is considered essential in today’s smartphone universe, so before turning it off or on you should know the consequences that this could bring for you.

When location is on

When you have the GPS of your mobile on applications that need this information will be able to access it to offer you functions or services based on it. This also occurs with various services of Google Y Manzana, They need this data to customize the reports they offer you.

On the other hand, you can share this information with other users so that they can get to where you are in a more precise way, without forgetting the possibility of being able to track your mobile in case it is lost or stolen.

Even the ads you see will be affected, since advertisers pay for their ads to be viewed by users in a certain region. So that If you have the location turned on, you will see exclusive ads for your location.

If the location is off

If you turn off the location of your mobile the applications they will not be able to access this data, so it is more than likely that many of their functions will be limited, which happens both with third-party apps and those of Google and Apple respectively.

Further, You will not be able to share your location with other users and the ads you see will be set according to your IP address. In addition, if you lose your device, you will not be able to track it and even if you have active location history, the places you go with the GPS off cannot be registered.

If you have any questions, leave them in the comments, we will answer you as soon as possible, and it will also be of great help to more members of the community. Thank you! 😉

You may be interested:

Rate this post

Leave a Comment