Configure Private Server in Discord  Step by Step Guide ▷ 2020

Discord is a multiplatform software that allows you to communicate with other users through a server while they play. If you want to know how to set up private server on Discord with or without password, continue reading this practice step by step guide.

Through the program channels, can send text, voice and video messages your party during an online match, as well as share screen and make video calls.

The application easily adjusts to the user’s needs. If what you are looking for is a private space in which to chat with your colleagues, Discord makes it possible. Therefore, in this post we will talk about everything related to private servers on the platform.

What are the benefits of having a private server on Discord?

What are the benefits of having a private server on Discord?

The platform gives you the possibility of create your own server, in which you can get together with a whole community of players. However, What are the benefits of having a private server on Discord? First of all, it is necessary to highlight the advantage of having a server. The servers in Discord are spaces where members can freely and comfortably send messages to each other. This is possible thanks to the multiple voice, text and video channels that can be created on one server.

The channels, in turn, can be categorized to give each one a specific purpose and thus avoid confusion among members. On the other hand, you can configure server privacy in order to have greater security. A private server restricts access to outsiders, so that all messages can only be seen and replied exclusively by its members. Likewise, a server closed to the general public guarantees you can chat with your colleagues without fear of interference from third parties.

Learn step by step how to configure a private server with and without a password

Learn step by step how to configure a private server with and without a password

Discord stands out for its intuitive and simple interface. If you’re interested enable a closed server to chat with your friends while they are playing online then we have what you are looking for.

Next, learn step by step how to configure a private server with and without a password:

Add a server

The first thing you should do is create a new server in Discord. Although you can modify any of the existing ones in your account, here we are going to teach you the process from scratch. Log into your Discord account from the desktop application.

At left side of the screen the customer panel appears. There are the icons of the servers where you are a member. If you have not joined any server, this panel must be empty. In case of having many servers, then place the (+) symbol on the client panel to add a new server.

Create a new server

Then two options appear on the screen: Create a server or join a server. In this case, you must select the first option. Next, you must Introduce a Name to identify the server, and pick an image from your files to set a new icon.

In this section you should also choose a region to host your server. Make sure it is a region close to your geographic location. Thus, the ping of the connection will not affect the communication performance and the quality of the games. Then click on “Create”.

Configure server permissions

The next step to make your Discord server private is change server permissions. Typically, servers are public spaces that can be shared through a invitation link. Everyone an account Discord you will have access to the server if you click on the link. To make the server a place private, you must access the section “Server configuration”. To do this, click on the icon in the client panel. Next, click on the option identified by a gear.

Enter roles

Once inside the settings menu, click on the tab “Roles” located on the left side of the screen. Then select the role named “@all the world” or “@Everyone”. After that, you must uncheck all the permissions. Make sure to scroll down to disable all permissions.

Create a new role

After you have disabled permissions for everyone, you need create a new role. To do this, go back to the tab “Roles” and click on the symbol (+). At this point you have to enter a name that identifies the role. For example: members.

Grant permissions to the new role

After creating the new role “Members”, it is necessary to grant all permissions. After you have entered the name, you have the option to check the permission boxes. Make sure to check them all and finally click on “Ready”.

Grant the new role to your members

This new role guarantees that only those users who have it can interact on the server. Therefore, you must give the role to the people of your choice. Enter the server settings again and select the tab “Members”. Then click on the symbol (+) in the name of the user you want to give the new role to. After that, click on the role you have created. So this user will have permissions to interact on your server.

Block voice and text channels

A Discord server it cannot be locked with passwords. However, you can remove the permissions for specific voice and text channels. Only authorized users may use these means to communicate within the server. This feature is special for having private conversations with a small number of members.

Hover over channel name to bring up the gear icon to the side and click there. The channel setup menu appears on the screen. Then, go to the left side panel.

Modify the permissions

As you did with the server, you can also do it with a specific channel. To do this, go to the tab “Permissions” and select the role “@all the world” or “Everyone” in the section of “Roles / members”. Then, uncheck all permission boxes for all users.

Make sure to swipe down to uncheck all options. When you’re done, click “Save Changes”. In this way, the voice text channel becomes private for all members of the server. It should be noted that the text channels remain hidden after removing the permissions. In the case of a voice channel, you only need to uncheck the box of “Connect”. The members of the server will be able to see the channel, but not participate.

Create a new member

If you want to enter the private channel with one or more friends, you need grant them the necessary permissions. To do this, go back to the tab “Permissions” channel configuration. Then click on the symbol (+) which is on the side of the section “Roles / members”.

You must provide the new role with all the permissions necessary for the members of your choice to interact on the channel. Another alternative is to select the users, one by one, and assign the permissions separately. However, this method is much more tedious and not as fast.

If you have any questions, leave them in the comments, we will answer you as soon as possible, and it will surely be of great help to more members of the community. Thank you! 😉

You may be interested:

Rate this post

Leave a Comment