Close Twitch Account  Step by Step Guide ▷ 2020

Nowadays, Twitch is cataloged as the most important streaming platform of all in the world. For this reason, beyond focusing on electronic sports, the website has a variety of content at this time and thanks to that, treasures more than 17.5 million visits every day.

Thanks to this, a large number of users decide to broadcast their games live through Twitch and they choose to benefit from all the advantages, possibilities and resources that it provides. However, despite its great boom, the truth is that many people can get tired of it. Valuing that, has created some addiction that ends up deteriorating the productivity of people in their other areas.

For this reason, there are many Streamers who prefer to take a break and temporarily or permanently unsubscribe from the social network, so that it does not interfere with your daily life. But, for this, it is essential to know how you can close an account on Twitch and what happens around it, so we will explain it to you here.

Learn step by step how to close your Twitch account temporarily or permanently

Whether because you own multiple channels on Twitch for different audiences and you want to dedicate yourself to one of them only or because you feel saturated with so many social networks and you want to give up Twitch, it helps to know how you can close your account correctly.

For which, the platform offers you two solutions, temporarily disable it or close it permanently:

Deactivate the account temporarily

Deactivate the account temporarily

If you want take a break and you feel that there is any chance to use again Twitch, we recommend you choose disable your account temporarily, only. In this case, it is essential that disconnect your other associated accounts before doing so to avoid certain inconveniences with third-party services and it is also advised delete your personal information for security reasons (real name, biographical data, location, etc.).

Now, to carry out this process in a relevant way, you have to carry out the following process, following everything indicated step by step:

  • To get started, access the official Twitch website through your preferred web browser and log into your account. Whereas, this cannot be done through the platform’s mobile app.
  • Once log in, proceed to click on the user icon. Which is located in the upper right corner of the interface.
  • Later, select the option “Settings” in the drop-down menu.
  • Now, select the tab “Profile” and go to the bottom where you will get the option to “Deactivate your Twitch account” in the section “How to deactivate your Twitch account”.
  • Then, click on the link that says “Deactivate account” in the mentioned section.
  • Following that, they will redirect you to a new window where they allow you indicate what is the reason why you do it (this is optional).
  • Finally, just subtract click the “Deactivate account” button to proceed to confirm the action by entering the password of your channel in the box that they show you.

Permanently delete the account

Delete the account permanently

On the other hand, if you’re sure you don’t want to be back on Twitch, the best thing is that you delete your account permanently. In this case, it will be impossible to recover your account and, in addition, no one will be able to create a channel with your username once the system releases that ID.

With this clarified, below, we will show you what you have to do to delete your Twitch account:

  • As in the previous case, you must start with login to your account via web or desktop version, using your trusted browser.
  • After that, enter the following URL:https://www.twitch.tv/user/delete-account. Which will allow you to directly enter the panel to permanently delete accounts in Twitch. Since, there is no specific configuration within your account to be able to do this.
  • At this point, you can indicate the reason why you have decided to delete your user account. In case you prefer to reserve it, keep in mind that it is not mandatory that you enter a reason in said bar.
  • To finish, all that remains is click on the “Delete account” button in order to confirm this action by typing the password of your channel correctly.

Once you finish this process, automatically, all the content hosted there and your personal information will be permanently deleted.

What happens to the money in my streamer account when I close my Twitch channel?

What happens to the money in my streamer account when I close my Twitch channel?

If you choose to disable your Twitch channel temporarily, luckily, your income will not be affected. Since, by nature, the deactivation of a channel on this platform does not imply any loss of income, even, even if you decide to change the username of the same. However, it is likely that, in certain cases, all revenue derived from Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS Vita, PS3, PS4, Live from PlayStation and Android TV viewer ads is delayed.

But, the time you stay away from the social network will affect your ad revenue each day, even though you will not miss any income permanently. On the other hand, it is important that you keep in mind that, when deleting your account permanently, it is not possible to transfer this money to another Twitch channel (for example, if you choose to return under another ID or to gift it to a friend). As with ancient times, the platform still does not allow this type of transfers.

How long does it take for Twitch to permanently close my account?

How long does it take for Twitch to permanently close my account?

Until now, there is no known time limit for Twitch to proceed to shutdown One account permanently, after temporarily deactivating it. Because, the system will not delete your user information, once you deactivate that channel. Therefore, if you prefer to stop showing your personal data, you will have to do it yourself before proceeding to disable it. As a consequence, in short, you do not have a maximum time range to be able to return to Twitch and reactivate your account.

Which, you can do it by doing the following step by step:

  • Using your preferred web browser, Find and access the official website of the streaming platform (twitch.tv) to use its desktop version.
  • Thereafter, log into deactivated Twitch account, as you regularly did.
  • Once you enter the username and password correctly, automatically, the system will ask you if you want to reactivate your account.
  • To conclude, you should only click on “Reactivate your Twitch account” and in this way, your channel will be ready to be used again, keeping all your content available (if you didn’t delete it before).

If you have any questions, leave them in the comments, we will answer you as soon as possible, and it will surely be of great help to more members of the community. Thank you! 😉

You may be interested:

Rate this post

Leave a Comment